NaNoWriMo

Merry Meet,

This is just a quick update to let everyone know what is going on at the moment. On the first of November a friend told me about this thing called NaNoWriMo. I was like, what that sounds crazy? But then it was all explained to me. NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. Do not worry about the national part, they say on the website that it is actually international but InNoWriMo did not sound as cool. The goal of this is to write 50,000 words in one month. I know that that sounds crazy too but it is not actually that much. The website where you can upload your word count to calculates your statistics and unless you write more than average, the average you need per day to complete it is 1667 words. See that is much more manageable, you just need to take things in bite sized chunks.  I had life things going on so I could only start late but hopefully I shall catch up soon. I am having a lot of fun writing. 
The whole thing is kind of like a challenge, not really a competition. You see at the end of the month, or from November 25th you can start uploading your text to their automated word checker and if it verifies that you have 50,000 words or more then you can get a certificate. Obviously it is possible that you just type “word” 50,000 times and then upload that… but then if you show someone the certificate and they ask if they can read your story, you are going to be at a bit of a loss. So the challenge is there and it is aimed at helping ordinary people, aka not necessarily profession writers, at getting the motivation to actually write a book. I personally know so many people who say that one day they want to write a book, but I have never gotten to read even a chapter of this book. NaNoWriMo is also not aimed at helping people write a finished book, it is more about getting your rough draft down. December is the month for editing, or the following months. This is just about trying to churn out as much of the novel which is living inside of you as possible. Perfection is not key. No one has to read your novel at all if you do not want them too. 

Soooo that is what I have been up to lately, and what I shall be focusing on until the end of November. After that I have a few exciting things to show on this blog. Until then keep writing!

Blessed Be
)O(

Leave a comment